• Tube Insiders
  • Posts
  • The Most EFFECTIVE Way To Use AI On Your YouTube Channel

The Most EFFECTIVE Way To Use AI On Your YouTube Channel

Do you know the most overlooked aspect of a YouTube channel?

No, it’s not the channel name or the level of cinematics

It’s not even the upload frequency or niche

The most overlooked aspect of a YouTube channel is the voice narration…

Surprising, right?

Before I share what I believe to be one of the savviest YouTube tricks right now

First let me share how I came to learn just how important the narrative voice on your channel truly is

As you may know, I was the narrator on one of my channels (Betterment Boss)

Why?

Because when I started building faceless channels over 5 years ago

I didn’t even know you could outsource voice narration (i.e. voiceovers)

So what did I decide to do? Voice the videos myself…

But here’s the thing…

I HATE the sound of my voice

Fortunately, my subscribers didn’t cringe at its sound as much as I do

Which lead to amassing 100,000s of subscribers and making $100,000s in the process

But as time went on, I wanted to remove myself from the voiceover process altogether

So one day I went to Upwork and created a job posting

After a brief application process I had found my guy!

A skilled British male voiceover artist who fit my price point to a tee

So I sent him my script, received back the audio, got the video made and BOOM

The video was released…

Instant viral hit, right?

Not quite…

The video was littered with comments like…

“Where did Adam go? and “Who’s this British guy?”

Needless to say, your subscribers crave consistency

And changing the channel’s narrative voice was a mistake to say the least…

Now, you can approach voiceovers in one of two ways, both of which come with pros and cons

1. Self-creation

Taking a manual approach where you record your own voice and edit it prior to use in your video editing

Pros: Skill-building, lower cost

Cons: Initial learning curve, time investment

2. Outsourcing

Handing off the voiceover duties to a voice actor via sites like Upwork or Fiverr

Pros: Low time commitment, higher voiceover quality

Cons: Cost, voice continuity

As you can see, there is no perfect solution…

Each approach has its upsides and downsides

But there is a new method, that few people are talking about, that gives you the best of both worlds

I call it “AI Transmutation”

It allows you to speed up production and lower costs

Here’s how it works at a high level

1. Identify a voice you want to use for your videos (yours or VO artist)

2. Clone the voice using ElevenLabs Voice Cloning functionality

3. Run your script through ElevenLabs and download completed voiceover

How does this speed up video production?

Self-Creation Approach: You avoid having to set up your recording equipment, recording the voiceover and editing the audio

Outsourcing Approach: You will save the time going back and forth with voiceover artists that is typically required to get the perfect final product

But what about saving money?

Self-Creation Approach: No need to buy recording equipment and software

Outsourcing Approach: Cheaper to spend $22/mo on voice cloning software than paying a voiceover artist at least that much for every video you create

Plus, by cloning one voice, you avoid the risk of losing voice consistency across your channel if you can no longer perform the voiceovers or lose your VO artist over time

So clearly, based on these benefits, the AI Transmutation method is the one to take, right?

The answer is yes but…

There are two considerations you want to keep in mind before adopting this production approach

First, it’s still unclear how YouTube views AI generated content

Personally, I believe if AI is used to create original, valuable content then you shouldn’t have an issue using the AI Transmutation method

Second, this method needs to be used ethically

In my eyes, it’s not ethical to use the voice of another individual on your videos without their consent

In other words, don’t clone someone else’s voice without their permission

Instead, hire a voiceover artist, create a contract for this arrangement and ensure that everything is above board

If these considerations are abided by then you’ll be in a position to drastically reduce your production time and costs making your channel a well-oiled money making machine!

Until next week,

Adam

 When you’re ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. If you want to learn how to grow and monetize your own faceless YouTube channel, check out Tube Automate and Tube Freedom

  2. If you want a personalized review of your YouTube channel, sign up for a YouTube Channel Review

  3. If you want to work with me one-on-one to build a faceless channel, check out Tube Launch